Total Number of PIN Codes in Tiruvarur

Did you know, Tiruvarur district of Tamil Nadu state has around 71 unique pin codes under it!! Also the Tiruvarur district postal office is a Head Office and its contact number is 04366-222022. The total number of talukas under Tiruvarur district is 18 which consists of Kodavasal, Kodavasla, Koradacherry, Mannargudi, Mannarkudi, Nagapattinam, Nannilam, Needamangalam, Nidamangalam, Pattukottai, Thanjavur, Thiruthuraipoondi, Thiruvarur, Tiruturaipundi, Tiruturipundi, Tiruvarur, Valangaiman, Valangaman.

The address for postal office of Tiruvarur district in Tamil Nadu is "Postmaster, Post office Tiruvarur (Head Office, Nagapattinam, Tamil Nadu, India - 610001)".

Tiruvarur City

Thiruvarur /θɪrʊvɑːruːr/ also spelt as Tiruvarur[a] is a town and municipality in Tiruvarur district in the Indian state of Tamil Nadu. It is the administrative headquarters of Tiruvarur district and Tiruvarur taluk. The town was one of the five traditional capitals of the Chola empire, with one of the emperors of the dynasty, Kulothunga Chola I, having it as his capital. The town is believed to be of significant antiquity and has been ruled, at different times, by the Medieval Cholas, Later Cholas, Later Pandyas, Vijayanagar Empire, Marathas and the British. The town is known for the Thyagaraja temple, and the annual chariot festival held in the month of April. The temple chariot of the Thyagaraja temple, weighing 300 tonnes (660,000 lb) and measuring 90 feet (27 m) tall is the largest temple chariot in Tamil Nadu. Thiruvarur is the birthplace of Tyagaraja, Muthuswami Dikshitar and Syama Sastri, popularly known as the Trinity of Carnatic music of the 18th century CE.

Thiruvarur was a part of Thanjavur district till 1991 and Nagapattinam district until 1997; it became the headquarters of Tiruvarur district when it was carved out of Nagapattinam district in 1997. The Odambokki river passes through the centre of the town. Thiruvarur covers an area of 10.47 km2 (4.04 sq mi) and had a population of 58,301 as of 2011. It is administered by a first grade municipality. The town is a part of the Cauvery delta region and agriculture is the major occupation. Roadways are the major means of transportation with a total of 94.06 km (58.45 mi) of district roads including three national highways passing through the town.

Thiruvarur district is one of the 32 districts in the Tamil Nadu state of India. The district occupies an area of 2161 km². It lies between Nagapattinam district on the east and Thanjavur District on the west, and is bounded by the Palk Strait on the south. The district headquarters is at Thiruvarur town. As of 2011, the district had a population of 1,264,277 with a sex-ratio of 1,017 females for every 1,000 males.

Related Posts