Karnataka PIN Codes - List of Pincodes By Districts in Karnataka

Karnataka (Kannada:ಕರ್ನಾಟಕ, IPA:/kərˈnɑːtəkə, kɑːr-/) is a state in south western region of India. It was formed on 1 November 1956, with the passage of the States Reorganisation Act. Originally known as the State of Mysore, it was renamed Karnataka in 1973. The capital and largest city is Bangalore (Bengaluru). Karnataka is bordered by the Arabian Sea and the Laccadive Sea to the west, Goa to the north west, Maharashtra to the north, Telangana to the North east, Andhra Pradesh to the east, Tamil Nadu to the south east, and Kerala to the south west. The state covers an area of 191,976 square kilometres (74,122 sq mi), or 5.83 per cent of the total geographical area of India. It is the seventh largest Indian state by area. With 61,130,704 inhabitants at the 2011 census, Karnataka is the eighth largest state by population, comprising 30 districts. Kannada is the most widely spoken and official language of the state.

The two main river systems of the state are the Krishna and its tributaries, the Bhima, Ghataprabha, Vedavathi, Malaprabha, and Tungabhadra, in the north, and the Kaveri and its tributaries, the Hemavati, Shimsha, Arkavati, Lakshmana Thirtha and Kabini, in the south. Most of these rivers flow out of Karnataka eastward into the Bay of Bengal.

Though several etymologies have been suggested for the name Karnataka, the generally accepted one is that Karnataka is derived from the Kannada words karu and nādu, meaning "elevated land". Karu nadu may also be read as karu, meaning "black", and nadu, meaning "region", as a reference to the black cotton soil found in the Bayalu Seeme region of the state. The British used the word Carnatic, sometimes Karnatak, to describe both sides of peninsular India, south of the Krishna.

With an antiquity that dates to the paleolithic, Karnataka has been home to some of the most powerful empires of ancient and medieval India. The philosophers and musical bards patronised by these empires launched socio-religious and literary movements which have endured to the present day. Karnataka has contributed significantly to both forms of Indian classical music, the Carnatic and Hindustani traditions.

PIN Codes By Districts in Karnataka

Below is the list of 30 districts in Karnataka with pincode range and total unique pincodes per district.

District Minimum Pincode Maximum Pincode Number of Pincodes
Bagalkot 586113 587330 37
Bangalore 560001 562164 111
Bangalore Rural 560060 562164 31
Belgaum 590001 591346 114
Bellary 583101 583276 47
Bidar 585226 585444 26
Bijapur 586101 587117 43
Chamrajnagar 571109 571490 21
Chickmagalur 577101 577550 46
Chikkaballapur 561206 563159 21
Chitradurga 577501 577599 37
Dakshina Kannada 574107 575030 94
Davangere 577001 583213 45
Dharwad 580001 582208 38
Gadag 582101 583282 32
Gulbarga 585101 585367 42
Hassan 573101 573225 49
Haveri 581101 581213 30
Kodagu 571201 574314 26
Kolar 561206 563162 49
Koppal 583226 583283 20
Mandya 571401 571812 44
Mysore 570001 571617 64
Raichur 584101 584203 31
Ramanagar 561201 562161 14
Shimoga 577115 577453 52
Tumkur 561202 572228 60
Udupi 574101 576283 72
Uttara Kannada 581121 581453 76
Yadgir 585201 585355 21